Cronquist System

(Systems Of Plant Taxonomy)


Systems Of Plant Taxonomy
Link to Dbpedia

What is Cronquist system?

The Cronquist system is a taxonomic classification system of flowering plants. It was developed by Arthur Cronquist in a series of monographs and texts, including The Evolution and Classification of Flowering Plants (1968; 2nd edition, 1988) and An Integrated System of Classification of Flowering Plants (1981) (see ). Cronquist's system places flowering plants into two broad classes, Magnoliopsida (dicotyledons) and Liliopsida (monocotyledons). Within these classes, related orders are grouped into subclasses. While the scheme was widely used, in either the original form or in adapted versions, many botanists now use the Angiosperm Phylogeny Group classification for the orders and families of flowering plants, first developed in 1998. The system as laid out in Cronquist's An Integrated System of Classification of Flowering Plants (1981) counts 64 orders and 321 families in class Magnoliopsida and 19 orders and 65 families in class Liliopsida.

Technology Types

instrumentalitysystemsystems of plant taxonomy


Classification de Cronquist (fr)Cronquist-systeem (nl)Cronquistsystemet (sv)Cronquistův systém (cs)Sistem klasifikasi Cronquist (in)Sistema Cronquist (ca)Sistema Cronquist (it)Sistema de Cronquist (es)Sistema de Cronquist (pt)System Cronquista (pl)Systematik der bedecktsamigen Pflanzen nach Schmeil-Fitschen (de)Система Кронквиста (ru)Система Кронквіста (uk)نظام كرونكويست لتصنيف النباتات (ar)크론퀴스트 분류 체계 (ko)クロンキスト体系 (ja)克朗奎斯特分类法 (zh)

Tech Info

Source: [object Object]
 — Date merged: 11/6/2021, 1:33:01 PM
 — Date scraped: 5/20/2021, 7:15:10 PM