Mystic Chord

(Post-Tonal Music Theory)

Logo of Mystic chord
Post-Tonal Music Theory
Link to Dbpedia

What is Mystic chord?

In music, the mystic chord or Prometheus chord is a six-note synthetic chord and its associated scale, or pitch collection; which loosely serves as the harmonic and melodic basis for some of the later pieces by Russian composer Alexander Scriabin. Scriabin, however, did not use the chord directly but rather derived material from its transpositions. When rooted in C, the mystic chord consists of the pitch classes: C, F♯, B♭, E, A, D. This is often interpreted as a quartal hexachord consisting of an augmented fourth, diminished fourth, augmented fourth, and two perfect fourths. However, the chord may be spelled in a variety of ways, and it is related to other pitch collections, such as being a hexatonic subset of the overtone scale, lacking the perfect fifth.

Technology Types

chordhemitonic scalehexachordpost-tonal music theorystraight line


6-34Akkord plemoryMystic hexachordPromethean chordPrometheus chordPrometheus scale


Accord mystique (fr)Acord místic (ca)Acorde místico (es)Akord mistyczny (pl)Mystischer Akkord (de)Прометеев аккорд (ru)Прометеїв акорд (uk)神秘和音 (ja)

Tech Info

Source: [object Object]
 — Date merged: 11/6/2021, 1:32:45 PM
 — Date scraped: 5/20/2021, 6:07:24 PM